Digital Daze


Every now & then the astonishing changes in family history research hits me like a lightning bolt. We have come to take so much for granted, even those of us who started in the pre-digital era, yes sounds like the age of dinosaurs I know!

This evening thanks to a tip from Chris Paton’s blog, http://scottishancestry.blogspot.com/, I found out about the Clock & Watch Tax online at ScotlandsPlaces http://www.scotlandsplaces.gov.uk/.  I was reminded to look at the Horse tax as well and there among the names in Stirlingshire was my 3x great grandfather with a significant number of taxable horseflesh. Much as I’d love to show you the page, the copyright & reproduction conditions are stringent so I can’t. If you have Scottish ancestry (or even if you don’t) go to the webpage & just search on a place that interests you.  

Among the other things I saw on this website tonight were a photograph of the church where my 2xgreat grandmother is buried; an aerial view of the estate where her husband was employed and they lived; an aerial view of the village where her father lived; information about an historic site close by and other wonders.

Kilmorich Church at Cairndow, Loch Fyne © Pauleen Cass 2010

However I can show you a photo I took recently of the church while on a visit to Scotland.

When you think that in the “olden days” we’d have had to trawl the library or borrow a book on inter-library loan to learn more about the area -I remember the excitement when I first read about my ancestral haunts in a C19th Scottish Gazetteer! And if we wanted a map, we’d have had to order in a topographical map and only if we were very lucky would we find a time-specific one.

You have to love technology and the richness it gives to our research and family stories, and in particular you have to love the Scots who’ve done so much to make their (and our) heritage accessible.

2 thoughts on “Digital Daze

  1. Welcome to the Geneabloggers family. Hope you find the association fruitful; I sure do. I have found it most stimulating, especially some of the Daily Themes.

    May you keep sharing your ancestor stories!

    Dr. Bill ;-)

    http://drbilltellsancestorstories.blogspot.com/

    Author of “Back to the Homeplace”
    and “13 Ways to Tell Your Ancestor Stories”

    http://www.examiner.com/x-53135-Springfield-Genealogy-Examiner

    http://www.examiner.com/x-58285-Ozarks-Cultural-Heritage-Examiner

    Like

    • Thanks Bill. I’ve been too busy working until recently to read many blogs but they’re so interesting. I enjoy reading ones like yours which provide a background so different from the Australian experience in many ways. Cheers Pauleen

      Like

Leave a Reply

