Diary of a Genea-Cruise Day 5: Hot, hot, hot!!


Today is…..

Saturday 8 Feb

And it’s going to be hot, hot, HOT in Adelaide, South Australia!

welcome to Adelaide1

It can’t be said that the cruise terminal in Adelaide is the most astonishing port in the world with its array of industrial buildings and containers. However a very pretty sunset over the harbour was a beautiful offset between nature and industry which I enjoyed.

sunrise

Adelaide also turned on the best show for the arriving mega-liner and its 3500 odd passengers. I liked that it had a bush band playing old Aussie songs to welcome people and while a cynical person could say the shops were there to take advantage of the tourists, they had some lovely products. With my purple, aqua and green obsession (good feminist that I am!) how could I resist a beautiful hand-painted fine merino wool scarf.

Bush band
The Old Gum Tree-O. Permission received to publish photo.

None of us were too thrilled at the prospect of a 42C day but it wasn’t too bad. The train from the cruise terminal into town is both convenient and efficient, and even better, free for seniors!

I met a former colleague and friend for lunch at the Art Gallery, and who should be at the next table but Jackie from Jax Trax, mum Jan and “little brother”. Many genea-cruisers have taken the opportunity to meet up with friends and family at ports along the way.

Back on the ship and dinner completed, our only learning activity for the day was the choice of two talks: You use WHAT for genealogy by one of my dinner-table companions, Thomas MacEntee, or Tracing the history of a community: the Society for One-Place Studies by Kirsty Gray.

Kirsty Gray presents on One Place Studies.
Kirsty Gray presents on One Place Studies.

Given my obsession with Dorfprozelten, Murphys Creek (Qld), and Broadford (Co Clare, Ireland), I just had to go to Kirsty’s talk and I’m now even more committed to getting the last two registered with OPS. I love the marriage of family and local history and the diversity of understanding that can bring.

Blogger Beads

Blogger bead possibThanks to the inspiration of Thomas MacEntee and the spending spree by Jill Ball, the geneabloggers on the cruise have been wearing their blingy blogger beads. I did rather like these beads at the Art Gallery SA which I think would make pretty good blogger beads.

 Good night, sleep tight

This little piggy went to market….

This little piggy went to sleep…

piggy


2 thoughts on “Diary of a Genea-Cruise Day 5: Hot, hot, hot!!

  1. It was great to meet you on the cruise although we didn’t seem to have enough time out from all those talks to talk to each other. We were talking about iPads and usage. I just posted my first in hopefully a series of Tech Tuesdays of apps I use. I hope you find them useful.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.