A winter excursion to the Top End?


I’ve been having a frivolous conversation on Facebook with my friend Sharn from Family History 4 U and Family Convictions and her overseas mates. The topic has been about Australian vernacular expressions and how they can be so easily misunderstood by non-Aussies. It finally occurred to me that I’d done a series of Aussie-isms in my April A to Z challenge in 2013 along with a virtual tour of Australia’s tropical north.

So if you’re in the mood to escape some chilly weather (the rest of Oz) or a summer chill out (northern hemisphere), why not go for a virtual excursion to the Top End where it’s presently a cool 22C (72F), and learn a little about our weird way of talking.

Yellow Waters in Kakadu National Park, NT.
Yellow Waters in Kakadu National Park, NT.

My Tropical Territory and Travel blog has been terribly neglected lately but I’m hoping to get some posts up soon about our recent adventures overseas.

And I’ve just discovered something else -you go to bed and overnight WordPress drastically changes the design for posting new stories! Uuuugh!

Have you noticed, too, that you can hit the like button under someone’s comment if you thought it was interesting, humorous etc?


3 thoughts on “A winter excursion to the Top End?

  1. Pauleen, thanks for the link to the wonderful Top End! What gorgeous photos, and what a fascinating blog. I recognise some of the Aussie-isms as being London-isms, too. And some of them bring back memories of my dear Mum (galah, for instance).

    Thanks for the mini-holiday break in chilly Aus (22C) from midsummer Up Over (20C – thanks a bunch, Hurricane Bertha).

    Like

    1. Thanks Frances. Yes I think quite a few of our expressions are derivative of London-isms and others from the Irish (eg you’ll end up in the poor house). It’s actually a chilly 17.6 in Darwin right now but will hit 30 later on 😉

      Like

      1. Oh, definitely a strong Irish influence as well. What a lovely rich mix!

        Your winter is warmer than our ‘summer’ at the moment. Jealous? Me? You bet! 😉

        Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.