Proud of my Irish roots


shamrock angel

Amidst the celebration of St Patrick’s Day, I’ve been reflecting how big a deal this was when I was a child, thanks in part to the religious divide. We would wear green ribbons to school (like the modern charity-fundraisers), little shamrock buttons, and have St Patrick’s Day concerts with all the old Irish songs.

On a  21st century note, I’ve been considering my Irish roots and how accurate I believe my DNA results are for ethnicity.

DNA comparison

As you can see, each of the companies I’ve tested with have come up with different levels of ethnicity. At #Congress_2018 it was mentioned that Ancestry’s ethnicity estimates are based (at least in part) on the trees in their database. Surely this is a good reason to get your trees uploaded to increase accuracy?

Living DNA region stats
Living DNA by region.

None of the companies provide results closely consistent with my own paper trail which is 44% Irish, 31% Scottish, 19% English/Welsh and 6% German.

I’m confident of most of these lines, with the exception of my annoying James Sherry aka James McSharry whose place of origin in Ireland continues to elude me.

My other Irish family names are:

Gavin:                   Ballymore Eustace, Kildare

Murphy:               David’s Town/Dunlavin, Wicklow

O’Brien:               Broadford, Clare

Reddan:               Broadford, Clare

Furlong:               Tullamore and ?, Offaly

Sta(u)nton:         Tullamore and ?, Offaly

Callaghan:           Courtown, Wexford

How Irish are you?

Do your ethnicity projections match your paper trail?

Have you still got Irish brick walls in your research?


4 thoughts on “Proud of my Irish roots

  1. Up until last year I was proud of my Irish ancestry with my father’s grandparents emigrating from Fermanagh. Now with my new DNA discovery I find I have no Irish at all, at least not in the family tree. What a sad day for the Irish (in me)!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.